March 2nd 2012 … Haiku prompt “old stuff.”

I love old stuff. While contemplating this prompt I discovered a discussion at a Noh Theatre site on the “Trivia of Noh.” This “Trivia of Noh” is aimed at and beloved by those Japanese (and there are many according to the site) who have never attended a Noh Theatre or a Noh Play even though it is classic Japanese stage art. There are many questions of interest and each comes with background so that the trivia question might be understood by those of us not versed in the ancient Noh tradition. This photo is from Wiki

This first Haiku was written before having done any reading:

noh play today – costumes in need of repair

I found Trivia question 2 to be fascinating, you can find the site here. Stated simply the question asked: “Noh or Kyogen which is older?” The most basic of explanation states that “Noh Theatre played to the nobles” and that “Kyogen which originated in China as Sarugaku was a form of street theatre playing to the common people.” After some time Sarugaku became known as Kyogen in Japan. Although originating from different roots according to my understanding they come from the same period of time in history. So I wrote two haiku following my readings.

children laughing – kyogen stories

dark clouds thunder storms – a noh play

10 thoughts on “March 2nd 2012 … Haiku prompt “old stuff.”

  1. I like all three. 😀 I love the last one. On the first one, did you mean “no play today” or “not?” It definitely makes a difference in the meaning, and I’m not certain how clearly the second can be understood. I had to consider it for a moment anyway. Of course, I may just need some more coffee.

    For the second, you might consider removing a word or two to concentrate the image. Something like “children’s bright laughter–kyogen stories” or “children’s afternoon laughter–kyogen stories.” I have moved from 5-7-5 haiku to 3-5-3 or a single line of around 11 syllables. It was sooooo hard to change over, but I realize I’ve had to consider each word even more carefully. There are a lot of essays on why English language haiku writers are making this change, but I’d recommend visiting http://haikuproject.wordpress.com/ and look around. Search her site and you’ll find more than you need (including links).

    On the third, I love the comparison between stormy weather and noh plays. I think you can condense this image as well. Maybe describe a moment in a storm ending with “like a noh play.” As it is the description feels almost repetitive. The comparison is an excellent one because I know that drum strikes and chorus singing are used throughout these plays. That would remind one of lightning or thunder, and then there is the drama of the play itself.

    Here are a couple of Youtube links. The first is a modern Noh play that I was really impressed with. It is obviously more accessible to we English speakers, yet it helps me understand how the Japanese appreciate their Noh. The second is Noh and Kyogen scenes. You can probably find a lot more interesting views related to it by exploring similar links and JapanSocietyNYC.

    This is a great post. You’ve got me interested in Noh now. 😀

    • Yousei you are marvelous … thank you, this is just what I needed! The first Haiku the word “not” was slipped in there by WP’s spell check … I don’t always catch those. It is meant to be a play on words … noh play today. Thank you for suggesting to me to “concentrate the image.” That makes sense and I shall do so. And yes to #3 … way to many words. thank you so much!

  2. I cannot say I can even begin to comprehend the “new to me” Haiku writing form … hopefully it will grow on me! I appreciate your comments and those of Yousei, as well as the link she provided. Fascinating ~~ hoping your days continue to get better!! 😀

  3. nice….i like all three as well…i really like street theatre…and street musicians…

    i do counseling with kids…so i am only at th hospital when one of them has to go in…and its usually for a psyche eval to go to the ward….

  4. I must admit I’m unfamiliar with haiku and therefore ill-equipped to give a proper critique. However I can say that this fascinates me and I must thank you for introducing me to this intriguing new (to me) world

    • Smootchies to love. It is really a discipline and I am a beginner. I have always loved Haiku and the idea of the Way of Haiku. Writing it is another story. But one that I really like. Thank you D.

    • I have always loved Haiku. I have read it, now I am studying it to a degree. I have joined a Haiku Community. This has been so good for me during illness because I definitely can find the concentration and discipline to write one Haiku/day.

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

