NaHaiWriMo May 18th Haiga and Haiku prompt: Mirror (self-reflection).

feeling frustration and anger – calmness in an old mirror

This photo was taken in “Barranco” a fascinating and wonderful old section of Lima, Peru. It was a day filled with exploration and satisfaction, beauty and and wonder. I love the idea of “reflection” anywhere from anything. And I love mirrors. This is just one photo I took that day. It is of me. So what? Well, I have now spent so very much time attempting to make this a “haiga” by placing my haiku into a text box into the photo. I have gotten no where with this and I am so frustrated that I am not capable of zen … or real haiku. Ugh! so, there it is.

5 thoughts on “NaHaiWriMo May 18th Haiga and Haiku prompt: Mirror (self-reflection).

  1. Photo – Very nice composition.

    I like the haiku a lot. I’m prone to anger and get frustrated easily, calmness in an old mirror somehow hints at looking at someone who is possibly a mentor or of a wish seeing a possible future self that might be wiser and thus act in ways that she knows.

    Maybe the words are not meant to be in the picture, sometimes photo colors and text won’t go well together.

    • “Maybe the words were not meant to be in the picture.” Ravenblack, this is exactly right … this is generally how I think, guess I was too frustrated. Thanks for that.

  2. if it’s any comfort, I don’t know how to do it either. The sentiment is expressed along with the picture–which works fine for me 🙂 “Hey you! Nice to see ya!” xoxo

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

