NaHaiWriMo May 23rd Haiku Prompt: Hortensia Anderson

One might this that a haiku prompt of someone of whom you have never heard might just be the most difficult prompt yet. Not so. I do not know Hortensia Anderson and I am so new to Japanese forms of poetry that I had never even heard of her. She died yesterday after a long battle with cancer. From my NaHaiWriMo friends I can tell that she was beloved by all. Still, easier to just skip this prompt. I chose instead to Google her. I found her to be a poet of haibun and haiku … extraordinaire. Frankly, someone whom I need to read. I am so very glad that I did that.

Haiku:
fireworks for hortensia someone I did not know – my loss

6 thoughts on “NaHaiWriMo May 23rd Haiku Prompt: Hortensia Anderson

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

