NaHaiWriMo … May 30th prompt: Write a haiku from the work of others.

This is a poem by a friend whose blog (by Blogger) is titled: “STARDREAMIG With Sherry Blue Sky. It can be found HERE. She is deeply spiritual, committed and filled with compassion. She has an enviable connection to nature. I only say enviable because I have been ill for some good bit and this has curtailed my time out of doors. She has a deep spirit. Today’s prompt for NaHaiWriMo is to take a piece of writing from another author and extract from it a haiku for myself. I think that this is a terribly clever haiku prompt.

Sherry’s wonderful poem represents her style, her tone and her spirit well. She is a woman who has known difficulty but one who lives with grace and optimism … one for whom I have significant respect and fondness. She hangs on to faith no matter what. She is a women who is no BS, who is loyal, who sets a fine example for women everywhere. Her poem is followed by my haiku … patterned after her poem.

“A Day Graced By Doves”

God sent me a morning
bathed in sunlight,
horse in the pasture,
wash on the line.

God sent me a morning
graced by doves,
with everything golden.
I’ll make it mine.

I’ll wrap it around me
to keep me safe,
to comfort and hold
my inner waif.

I’ll breathe it in,
till the day is done,
then God will send me
another one.

My Haiku:
summer dew doves grace the morning – spirit birds

7 thoughts on “NaHaiWriMo … May 30th prompt: Write a haiku from the work of others.

  1. Oh Liz, what a TREAT to come here and find your lovely words. (blush!) I LOVE your haiku – doves grace the morning – spirit birds. Wow! Perfect haiku!!!!! Tonight, the doves are huddling at the feeder in the rain. I worry it is raining too much for my new baby plants, just planted………..Thank you, my friend, for your kind words about me….may your health improve day by day, returning you to the wild places you love so much.

  2. I love the simple beauty of Sherry Blue Sky’s poem Liz–what a wonderful prompt to use for your own! Very nice indeed! Hope you are feeling better. xox

    • Hi Ravenblack, good to see you and you really must read her blog … it’s kind of like a really nice place to go, to go and to just be. Thank you.

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

