Magpie Tales # 129

Sargent, John Singer, A Dinner Table at Night, 1884 – The Mag’s 129th

Haibun

Dinner done I felt sated.  The glow of the red lamps reminded me there was more to come.

How I longed to settle down.  Oh, how I wished that this was my own dining room and that my beloved and I would arise from the table to take a relaxing drink in the library.  But my library would not have red walls, they would possess the calmness of blue.  And my beloved dead of tuberculosis these many years would be dressed in an artist’s bohemian attire, not stern, cold black.

My dining partner arose signaling that my work for the night had just begun.

Haiku

smoldering heat

reddish light bordello

a nights work ahead

Linked to Magpie Tales #129

 

34 thoughts on “Magpie Tales # 129

    • Oh my … how sad. Interesting, I was told for at least 50 years of my life that Mummy’s sister died at 12 years of age of TB … only to find out that she had downs syndrome and no TB.

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

