The Mag – 138 – October 7th 2012


Haibun
The waiting room had emptied out by now. I have been in this chair all day, cramped, such a long wait. But I have no real complaints. I have been given all the necessary comforts. They have brought me pillows to lay my head upon, a cup of water and a blanket. Now the doctor is here. No, I have no complaints for I am here while others are ill without these comforts, without the means for a doctor as they languish in cold doorways.

golden skirt warms me
my head upon a pillow
wild aster dying

I realize that one does not point out a kigo or really even discuss the term. However when I have a prompt, there are those times when I just dive in and forget about the kigo until the end. Today I chose to use Yuki Teikei Haiku Society in my search for an autumn kigo to use in the text. I found so many that actually took up the entire last line. I found this unusual, especially as I really appreciated how they worked right into the language of the haiku. I chose instead “wild aster.” It gave me what I needed even visually.

Shared at The Mag with pleasure and gratitude to Tess for the prompt.

36 thoughts on “The Mag – 138 – October 7th 2012

  1. i just adore the different takes on the picture and how they always teach me something…kigo..who knew….a lovely autumn piece..just love the wild aster reference…being a florist an’ all!!!xx

  2. Now I shall have to try and understand what a kigo is and how it fits into things.
    Like your version with the humility of being well-off.

    • Thank you Bestwork. A kigo is a “season word.” It is a word that sort of anchors a haiku. I tend to like to use a kigo that corresponds with the real season. And “wild aster” is an autumn kigo.

  3. ugh, there are many who dont have the opportunity to see a doctor for sure…it astounds me at the basic things that are not afforded to all…you know i went 7 years once without insurance….and paying straight to the doc, expensive…many that just live with what ever they got knowing help is too far away, just down the street…

    • I was very lucky in my youth Brian. Well lucky during my whole working life really. When I initially worked in hospitals I simply received insurance, as time went on I paid a small amount for it. When I had my own small business I used my husband’s. Today the premiums that his firm pays are astronomical. We are in a real pickle in this country.

    • Thank you Daydreamer, I am glad about the clinics. It is so difficult for way to many. Healthcare became “managed healthcare” I believe in the late eighties. That is when healthcare went into the hands of administrators or business people. It has been on the rise ever since.

    • Thank you my friend. Makes me think of the last lovely piece of your that I read … the dogs swimming, everyone out in the wild … maybe you saw some asters that day.

  4. Oh I like how you did this, it was sweetly creative, and perfectly structured, especially inserting
    golden skirt warms me
    my head upon a pillow
    wild aster dying …bravo!

  5. So beautiful and languid a piece … the words play the picture perfectly … I am always amazed at how the few words of a haiku can paint such full pictures and tell such touching stories … well done, Raven.

    • I really love haiku for the reasons you mention above. They are short but they are very difficult to get right. Thank you Susan. I came to your wonderful blog – I actually filled in the security wording correctly 3 times but it would not take my comment.

  6. I like your take on the photograph. Actually reminded me of a personal experience.

    Liz, I’m just blown away by your detailed knowledg of Japanese styles of poetry and your fine execution. Makes me smile every time I visit.

    Thanks for you visits to me.

    Happy days … and aren’t we happy that the elections will be over before Thanksgiving? Hoping for the best. No anger. No hate.

    Many blessing my canny friend,
    Ge

    • Jamie, such kind words. Last winter and spring and I guess part of the summer, I studied and wrote haiku. I have missed you so much. It is wonderful to have you out and about, wonderful to see you.

      • And I have missed you as I go from active blogging to periods of ??? … Oh well. But we do know we can always catch up by email and visiting blogs and that is nice. I am so glad you feel better these days and continue to look forward to wonderful gifts on your blog.

        I enjoyed this for a second time. Wonderful visit today as always.

        Many blessings to you, Liz, and wonderful grace-filled days.

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

