Blog Blast For Peace – Nov. 4th 2012

Frankly, no one has ever said it better than Martin Luther King. Yet, he was murdered. He was cut down in the prime of his life. As much as many would like to forget him, he will never be forgotten. I am deeply bothered that I never see streets named after Martin Luther King in the middle of town. The streets with his name that I have found are only found within African American neighborhoods. He worked for peace for all. And yet the mainstream white community does not honor him. Why do we kill those who wish for and work for peace? Why do so many pious Godly people start wars, kill peace makers, back the death penalty, and fight the notion that “we are all one?” Is it because peace gets in the way of making money?

“All I’m saying is simply this, that all life is interrelated, that somehow we’re caught in an inescapable network of mutuality tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly affects all indirectly. For some strange reason, I can never be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be. You can never be what you ought to be until I am what I ought to be. This is the interrelated structure of reality.”
—Dr. Martin Luther King Jr

Words and photo taken from Blog Blast For Peace Facebook Site

10 thoughts on “Blog Blast For Peace – Nov. 4th 2012

  1. Awesome, kiddo. He is one of my heroes too. I love his quote. Chief Seattle said the same thing about the interconnection of all things. Takes us a long time to learn this simple truth. Great to see you peace blogging. I have been at my desk all day visiting all the sites………inspiring.

  2. I want to live long enough to see people only knowing the spirit and soul of others. Not the skin, not the status, not the religion, politics, culture, age, sex, race or culture. It’s as close as can be – in my opinion, but the giant step to knowing this is to know one self. I’m saddened that this is more frightening than anything else to so many. MLK IS respected by other races! I’m proudly one of those of other race who holds him in high esteem. Our oneness, Dr. King, is eternal.

  3. Excellent point you make here – that memorials to M.L.K. hardly exist. Not just street names, but any other form. The lack says something profoundly depressing about our attitudes to peace.

  4. Oh what a wonderful quote! That…..I adore.

    I was reminded today at another spot what George Carlin said “Fighting for peace is like screwing for virginity”.
    Be the change, eh?
    BE the change.

  5. does peace get in the way of making money…ugh….sadly all too true, esp in our world right now…we seem to have slipped a bit further down that road….wrote on finding peace myself today….we are all in this together….

  6. I guess it boils down to what makes folks feel threatened. Threat is a powerful mover of thoughts, perceptions and actions. We can choose to feel threatened by all kinds of stuff. Threat to who we are, who we have been, our status quo etc etc. As we feel threatened, we start searching for security of the known- our community, our religion, our race and so on. As we start attacking all that which creates insecurity for us – the unknown, the others. Martin Luther King paid the price for standing upto certain ideals which created insecurities .

    Awhile back, I had posted ” We vs. Them” in which I had explored some of these aspects. I take the opportunity tp provide the link for the benefit of readers who might me interested.

    http://esgeemusings.com/2012/01/15/we-vs-them/

    Graet post which started several trains of thoughts.

    Shakti

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

