War Is

war fixes
nothing
but
the fat cat’s
wallet
as
it destroys
families
possibly
forever

war destroys
the
soul
of the
warrior
and
eventually
the souls
of the
families
of
warriors

another
way must
be found
other
ways
and
means exist
war is
deadly
war is
a pompous
conceit

destroying
the land
the homes
the food
sources
of the
people
the animals
devastated

war mames
the children
known as
colateral
damage
war destroys
the next
generation
making
the world
a crueler
place

war is the
epitome
of evil
saber-rattling
for the
uninitiated
who do
not
serve

who have
no bravery
but
send
them into
battle
all
the same
using soldiers
as chess
pieces
toys
in
their game
of losses

Posted at dVerse in the Poetry Pub for OpenLinkNight Tuesday

32 thoughts on “War Is

  1. On facebook someone posted something like: We kill people who kill people because killing people is wrong. That’s about it. You nailed it, today, my friend. Collateral damage – to the whole world, when all is said and done. Heaven knows what would erupt out of an attack on Syria right now. Unthinkable.

  2. of only we could come up with a different way, you know. but war is profitable to those that run the show…it seems inevitable that we will be right back at it in the near future…and at what cost?

  3. If only EVERY country in the world would buy into this idea. I don’t think I can think of a period of history where there has not been warring going on. Unless all countries agree, the concept would not not work…but I guess one can be idealistic and hope.

    • I don’t have much hope regarding war – especially an eminent one. Though, I suppose that I should be more optimistic. I do believe that another way can be found – such as in the brilliant capture of Bin Laden.

  4. You eloquently show how even the soldier’s soul is devastated . . . and in truth, it’s all toward profit for a heartless few. Awesome work! (and a very pretty blog) Cheers~

    • Thank you so very much Linda. I have not written a “war poem” in some time. My “poetry of war” is my best. It felt good to be able to express how I feel about the current administration’s intentions.

  5. War makes me sad. I remember sitting in a bomb shelter at the age of six hearing the noise of sirens. That was in Israel . Meanwhile my Mother’s childhood home was bombed in Romania during the war. That memory remained with her all her life. Your poem is a great capture.

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

