U.N. World Peace Day

My exquisite and beautiful husband has long called me his “little warrior,” at war with the world. I suppose the worst place that I have spent way too much time at war is on the road with “stupid drivers.” I have no tolerance for stupidity. I have always received excellent job reviews. Then one year in the very best job that I ever held my boss let me know that I must tolerate the stupidity of others. Remember? My husband has long called me his little warrior – at war with all. Now it is all true, I have been at war with the world.

When you are five years old and a ten-year-old boy mashes your face in the snow each time you walk by his house (a necessary act) you are somewhat incline to fight back, as useless an act as that may be. But this act was greatly enhanced by my parents doing nothing to assist me but to tell me to stand on my own two feet. Life has been a big fight for me until I met David in 1977. Then I had someone in my own corner. I have always fought for my rights so to speak, and the rights of others. Please remember I am a woman of the sixties, the dawn of feminism, a time when women had to fight to “get” their rights. As an aging adult of nearly 67, my fighting days are over. The whole attitude of fighting with the world is pretty much gone. Thank goodness. This is in part due to the progress that we have made and in part due to my age.

I say these things because today is the UN World Peace Day. And I know that peace like anything else in this world must begin with me. It must begin with my own peaceful behavior before I can truly affect peace in the world. What I am speaking of are intentions. Intention holds a lot of sway with me. If I was an angry person at war with the world, more than likely I would not be able to to sit down today and either pray or meditate on world peace, something that I shall do. Are you a peaceful human being?

Haiku for peace:

wandering a while
my desire for peace grows
it is within let it out

Shared at dVerse

I wish to thank you ahead of time for your comment. I love reading them. I also love reading your work and commenting. But I honestly do not have time to respond to your comments. Hugs!

11 thoughts on “U.N. World Peace Day

  1. Liz, if everyone thought that peace began with them, what a peaceful world we would live in, wouldn’t we? Or if everyone had the attitude that THEIR fighting days were over (such as you expressed), it would accomplish the same thing.

    Please come to dVerse a bit later today for my prompt re. today. I DO think you may find it interesting reading; and I shared what I think is an amazing video.

    Happy World Day of Peace!

  2. Oh you know how much I love this post, kiddo. Yes, do come to dVerse later today, you’ll see why. .I so relate to at our age being too tired to fight any more…….peace does begin with each one of us. And the combined peaceful energy we send out into the world helps tip the balance in favor of light instead of darkness. Sometimes that is the best we can do.

  3. there is a book called being peace….thich than nacht….a kid gave it to me about 20 years ago for christmas when i was working with him…its one of those that has stuck with me…and while i have not always achieved it…it has been made an impact on my life…and my own personal quest for peace….

  4. Love this, Liz. I so believe in what you say. It does begin within each one of us and it behooves us to act with peace as our fuel in all our dealings. Though you and I parallel age and actions in our younger years, I can’t stop putting out the effort and believing we can do it differently. I heard that difference in Syria from the new President. Even if he is lying through his teeth, it’s out there and I’m willing to remind. Is that fighting? I don’t want to be marching or milling with the masses. But I sure like to delude myself that I can find a peaceful way to do it!

    Just as you’ve done here. Telling your story! Perfect. My heart feels swollen.

  5. the desire for peace grows… yes… i know this being at war with the world feel…long story.. also childhood stuff.. and it’s good to arrive at a somewhat more peaceful place as we ripen..

  6. There’s ultimate wisdom here, Liz, and this reminds not only of the beautiful old Unity hymn “Let there be peace on Earth and let it being with me …” but also of the wisdom of Sitting Bull, which WhiteCrow recently shared with us on “Into the Bardo” …

    “Warriors are not what you think of as warriors. The warrior is not someone who fights, because no one has the right to take another life. The Warrior, for us, is one who sacrifices himself for the good of others. His task is to take care of the elderly, the defenseless, those who cannot provide for themselves, and above all, the children, the future of humanity.”

    Well done, my friend. May we post this on “Into the Bardo” … all links and credits as apppropriate. Let me know …

    Many blessings and much gratitude for the gift of you,
    Jamie

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

