the bear

Oh how delightful is the artwork of Catrin Welz-Stein Her lovely whimsical and fascinating work was the inspiration for poetry prompts at dVerse today. I simply could not resist her Polar Bear whom I have long, long loved … at one time a totem of mine.

scheeweisschen-by-catrin-welz-stein

i cannot pass you by
you have always been
a great love in my life

you are majestic
you are commanding
were we to lose you

i could easily die
die of loss even though
i don’t really know you

you are dreamlike
your hug is huge
your warmth real

but just a dream
you fade away
out of my picture

as long as you
can remain as long
as the water is cold

as long as
I know that you
are there

we that is all of us
we will go on
we will remain

Shared at dVerse

12 thoughts on “the bear

  1. Oh, I agree about the art work, and your poem – oh, how sad it would be loose this beautiful animal. I share your passion and concern.

    Also, Liz, thank you so much for you rich comment on “Bardo” today. I hope you will link in one or two of your poems before the week is out.

    Warmest regards,
    Jamie

Your words of response are greatly appreciated.

